antinomy
03-27-2004, 05:21 AM
Here is the body of a mail I received from one of my PTR programs.. It confirmed that some of the pop ups being sent are the vehicle for spreading viruses...
For me, I had already barred any traffic with www.mpgd.net with my firewall.
If you haven't run a virus scan, I suggest you do so after updating your definitions of course!
Text of the email:
I just received a virus from this ad.
http://www.cashage.net/scripts/runner.php?...403130131487849 (http://www.cashage.net/scripts/runner.php?EA=200403130131487849)
http://www.mpgd.net/getpaidpop5.php?uid=24...eferal=cdkimble (http://www.mpgd.net/getpaidpop5.php?uid=2440&bid=794&referal=cdkimble)
I also supplied the link that is the revisit so that you did not need to look it up.
The virus that I receive is DownLoad.Trojan according to Symantec. I did not receive this virus directly off of the site but via a string of popups. I do not even know if it affects every one or what conditions it popups with, i do know that it could be random due to adverts in the popups.
The popup company that MPGD uses is PayPopup.com, this is one of 2 that is propagating this virus. The other popup company is PopUpTraffic. This virus leaves behind a file called htm.htm and my Norton AV says its in the Temporary Internet Files (Folder).
Use this information to your own judgement for I can not tell you what and when to post something.
For me, I had already barred any traffic with www.mpgd.net with my firewall.
If you haven't run a virus scan, I suggest you do so after updating your definitions of course!
Text of the email:
I just received a virus from this ad.
http://www.cashage.net/scripts/runner.php?...403130131487849 (http://www.cashage.net/scripts/runner.php?EA=200403130131487849)
http://www.mpgd.net/getpaidpop5.php?uid=24...eferal=cdkimble (http://www.mpgd.net/getpaidpop5.php?uid=2440&bid=794&referal=cdkimble)
I also supplied the link that is the revisit so that you did not need to look it up.
The virus that I receive is DownLoad.Trojan according to Symantec. I did not receive this virus directly off of the site but via a string of popups. I do not even know if it affects every one or what conditions it popups with, i do know that it could be random due to adverts in the popups.
The popup company that MPGD uses is PayPopup.com, this is one of 2 that is propagating this virus. The other popup company is PopUpTraffic. This virus leaves behind a file called htm.htm and my Norton AV says its in the Temporary Internet Files (Folder).
Use this information to your own judgement for I can not tell you what and when to post something.